It’s always a good idea to know the law. In Wyoming, this means being familiar with the various laws regarding drugs and alcohol. Breaking them can have serious consequences, so it’s best to be informed.

Common questions about the drug and alcohol laws in Wyoming include:

  • DUI definitions and penalties
  • Zero tolerance
  • Marijuana laws

If you’ve been wondering about any of these things, read on. Here’s what you need to know.

DUI Laws in Wyoming

Wyoming’s DUI laws are pretty straightforward. You can’t drive or be in control of a motor vehicle if you are “under the influence” of alcohol or any other drug. That means that your driving is impaired and you can’t drive safely. 

You can also be arrested for DUI if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over 0.08%. This is called a “per se DUI,” and the police can arrest you for it even if you don’t seem impaired.

Zero Tolerance Laws for Wyoming

Anyone caught driving with a BAC of 0.08% or more can face normal DUI charges. However, Wyoming has special “zero tolerance” laws for drivers under 21. If you’re under 21, you can be arrested for an underage DUI with a BAC of 0.02% or more, even if it’s less than 0.08%.

Is Marijuana Legal in Wyoming

Marijuana is strictly illegal in Wyoming. It is against the law to have or use it even for medical purposes.

Hemp-based products are legal, as long as they contain less than 0.3% THC (the drug in marijuana). However, this really only applies to agricultural products. People have been arrested for having CBD oil with less than 0.3% THC.

Drug and Alcohol Related Crimes

In Wyoming, there are different kinds of crimes related to drugs and alcohol. 

  • Possession of illegal drugs: Wyoming has many “controlled substances.” It’s against the law to have them, even for personal use. The severity of the crime normally depends on what the drug is and how much you have.
  • Manufacturing illegal drugs: It’s against the law to produce any drugs listed as illegal in Wyoming. This includes making them with chemicals or growing plants like the opium poppy or marijuana.
  • Distribution of illegal drugs: This could mean selling drugs, transporting them or even just giving them away.
  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI): Drugs and alcohol impair your ability to drive. That’s why Wyoming makes it its own crime to use a motor vehicle while under the influence.

Penalties for Drug or Alcohol Abuse in Wyoming

Breaking any of Wyoming’s drug or alcohol laws could result in penalties. These depend on the crime as well as other factors.

DUI Penalties in Wyoming

For your first DUI conviction, you can expect:

  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Up to a $750 fine
  • A 90-day license suspension

If your BAC was more than 0.15%, you might also be required to use an ignition interlock device (IID) for six months. This machine prevents you from starting your car if your BAC is too high.

These penalties can go up if you’ve had prior DUIs or if there was a child in the car.

Zero Tolerance Penalties in Wyoming

In Wyoming, the penalties for an underage DUI are similar to an adult DUI. Like an adult, you can face up to a $750 fine and a 90-day license suspension for your first offense. Subsequent offenses may come with more severe penalties including jail time.

Cannabis Penalties in Wyoming

Crimes involving marijuana can be either misdemeanors or felonies. This depends on what you were doing with it and the amount.

Possession of less than 3 ounces is a misdemeanor. This results in up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. More than 3 ounces is a felony that means up to 5 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.

Growing marijuana is always a misdemeanor. You can face up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Selling or distributing marijuana is always a felony. It has the harshest punishments: up to 10 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.

Get Treatment for Drug and Alcohol Abuse in Wyoming

Jail sentences, fines and other legal penalties are just some of the ways drugs and alcohol ruin lives. If you or a loved one is suffering from drug or alcohol abuse, the time is act is now. Call your local treatment center today to learn about your options.

Sources

  1. Kudelska, K. (2019, January 25). CBD Is Illegal In Wyoming. Will Industrial Hemp Help Change That?
  2. Nolo. (2010, July 7). Wyoming’s Drunk Driving Laws and Penalties.
  3. The State of Wyoming. (1971). Wyoming Controlled Substances Act of 1971

We would love your feedback.

Was this article helpful?

Treatment Questions? Call 24/7.

(855) 265-2123