Drug and Alcohol Laws in the State of Oklahoma
Are you planning to spend time in Oklahoma and wondering about local substance use laws?
Even if you know drug laws for your home state, it’s important to know the local laws any time you travel. There are state-level laws that are different in each area.
For starters, you should know about Oklahoma’s laws for:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Zero Tolerance laws for minors
- Cannabis, both recreational and medical use
- Drug-related crime, including possession and distribution
You should also learn the penalties for breaking each of these laws. Depending on the law in question, the price for breaking them can be steep, including prison time and fines.
Here’s what you need to know about drug and alcohol laws in Oklahoma:
Penalties for Drug or Alcohol Abuse in Oklahoma
The penalties for breaking substance laws in Oklahoma depend on the law that you’re breaking. They can include:
- Monetary fines
- License suspension
- Prison or jail time
- Felony or misdemeanor charges
DUI Laws in Oklahoma
There are a few types of DUI (driving under the influence) laws in Oklahoma.
- DUI: You can be charged with DUI if you’re driving with a blood alcohol level (BAC) that’s at least 0.08%.
- APC: APC stands for Actual Physical Control. You can be charged with APC if you have a BAC of 0.08% and the “ability to operate a car.” This can mean having possession of car keys while being under the influence. You do not have to actually drive to be charged.
- Aggravated DUI: If you have a BAC of 0.15% or higher while driving, then you can be charged with aggravated DUI.
- DWI: This stands for Driving While Impaired. If you have a BAC of 0.06% or higher while driving a car, you can be charged.
The penalties are the most severe for aggravated DUI. They can range from:
- $500 to $5,000 in fines
- 1 to 20 years in prison or jail
- Suspension or loss of license
There are additional penalties that are different from case to case. They can include mandatory:
- Drug education
- Community service
- Alcoholics Anonymous meetings
- An interlock device that prevents you from driving while drinking
Zero Tolerance Laws for Oklahoma
Zero Tolerance laws exist in many states, including Oklahoma. These laws are designed to prevent minors from driving with any amount of alcohol in their system.
If you are under 21 and have any alcohol in your system while driving, then you can be charged. Refusing to take a BAC test leads to an automatic license suspension.
The penalties include:
- A 6-month suspension for a first offense
- A 12-month suspension for a second offense
- A 36-month suspension for a third offense
You may also face $100 to $1,000 in fines, mandatory community service, or a mandatory treatment stay.
Is Marijuana Legal in Oklahoma?
Cannabis is only legal for medical use in Oklahoma. You can possess up to:
- 3 ounces of cannabis
- 1 ounce of cannabis concentrate
- 72 ounces of edible cannabis products
You can also keep up to 8 ounces of cannabis, 6 mature cannabis plants, and 6 seedling cannabis plants at your residence. You must have an active state license to use medical marijuana in Oklahoma.
If you have less than 1.5 ounces of cannabis on you without a medical card, and you have a medical condition, then you can have your penalty reduced to a $400 fine with no jail time.
The penalties for possessing over 1.5 ounces of marijuana without a license or a medical condition include:
- 1 to 10 years in prison or jail
- $10,000 to $25,000 in fines
Drug and Alcohol-Related Crimes
Drug possession is one of the most common drug-related crimes. You can be charged with a misdemeanor for possessing any Schedule I through V drug.
The penalties include:
- Up to 1 year in prison
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- A misdemeanor charge
These penalties do not change with repeated offenses. If someone offends 15 times, their 15th offense has the same penalty as the first.
Get Treatment for Drug or Alcohol Abuse
If drug laws in Oklahoma have you worried, it could be the right time to find help for drug abuse.
In fact, there’s no better time to start recovering than today. Contact your local treatment center for cutting-edge addiction treatment such as:
- Cognitive-behavioral therapy to help you learn drug-free coping mechanisms
- Dialectical behavior therapy to teach you to live in the moment instead of escaping into drugs
- Medication-assisted treatment to reduce severe long-term cravings
This content does not constitute legal advice! Please consult an attorney before making decisions that can lead to drug charges.
We would love your feedback.
Was this article helpful?
Let Us Help
Use our form below to speak with an addictions specialist today. Let our team of experts in the addiction field help point you in the right direction.